Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Proper Hone for an 3.89 to 3.902 Bore

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2011, 10:11 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Proper Hone for an 3.89 to 3.902 Bore

I bought a nice LS6 block with a good standard bore. I want to give it a light hone before I install the pistons. I'm a total newbie to purchasing hones. I think I want a ball hone. I'm reading they are the easiest to use. What size ball hone do I need to purchase? Is there a recommended brand? Chilton's gives a good tutorial on the proper use of a hone but any recommendations would be appreciated.
Old 03-24-2011, 10:31 AM
KCS

Received 315 Likes on 213 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

A ball hone isn't designed to remove material, it basically just "resurfaces" the cylinder. The best route would be to take it to a machine shop to hone in a rigid hone with a torque plate. That will get the cylinders to the proper size as well as reduce taper and out-of-round.
Old 03-24-2011, 10:48 AM
TECH Apprentice

Your point is very well taken. I work in a machine shop (metal...not automotive) and have already checked the integrity of the bore in regards to taper and out-of-round using a calibrated bore guage. I'm comfortable with the tolerances I'm seeing. All I need to do is exactly what you stated, just a resurface of the cylinder so my rings seat properly. I'm at a point that I'm lost now because I have no idea how to purchase a ball hone.
Old 03-24-2011, 11:10 AM
KCS

Received 315 Likes on 213 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

Originally Posted by Bilster
Your point is very well taken. I work in a machine shop (metal...not automotive) and have already checked the integrity of the bore in regards to taper and out-of-round using a calibrated bore guage. I'm comfortable with the tolerances I'm seeing. All I need to do is exactly what you stated, just a resurface of the cylinder so my rings seat properly. I'm at a point that I'm lost now because I have no idea how to purchase a ball hone.