Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.3l

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2013, 06:52 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3l

Well I am new to the world of the LS. I am building a street rod. decided to go with a 5.3 truck engine. The only reason for going with this is the cost and have good things about building them. I purchased a 2003 out of a med duty truck. I would like to get the most out of my build. First I have heard that a LS6 cam wakes it right up? I have good and bad things about using the stock heads? The main thing is I would like to run a GM performance ECM and harness that will work well with a 4l65e. In order to run the new ECM I need to put a 58x crank. Will a late model crank bolt into a early block ( same size journals)? Any help would be appreciated.
Old 07-09-2013, 06:59 AM
TECH Fanatic

Why not just stick with the stock PCM? Stock 5.3 heads are okay but there are better options. The LS6 cam is definitely an improvement over stock, but again there are much better options out there. All depends on what yours goals are. I know you said you want to get the most out of your build but not really sure in what area you mean. Is this going in a street cruiser, street/strip car, or track car? Just need to know your goals & budget and we can probably tell you anything you need to know.

Edit: Sorry guess I should have paid more attention, I see you said street rod. What is your budget for engine mods alone and how much do you care about drivability? Are you willing to sacrifice some for performance or are you looking for a happy medium?

Last edited by Tan327; 07-09-2013 at 07:04 AM.
Old 07-09-2013, 07:31 AM
Teching In