Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Quality Assurance on Heads

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2003, 10:06 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Quality Assurance on Heads

I need some suggestions on how to make sure that the heads I receive are "good ones?" No, not that kind of good head.

I will be getting the RGR stage II's soon from Ls1SpeedInc. What am I looking for here? Flow test numbers? Visual inspection, etc.?

I'm new to the H/C crowd, but I have a feeling that once I get there, I'm gonna ask myself what took me so long...

Oh yeah, money....
Old 09-08-2003, 10:40 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1,454 Likes on 1,008 Posts
LS1Tech 20 Year Member
Default Re: Quality Assurance on Heads

RGR has a good reputation, so I think you will be getting a quality product.

Personally, I want everything checked out before it goes in the car.

Have the heads flow tested.

Have the heads checked for revirsion

Have have the springs checked for correct pressures.

Check the install height etc.

Visual inspection of all surfaces.

I think your RGR's will be fine.
Old 09-09-2003, 08:01 AM
11 Second Club

Sounds good. As far as the tests you mentioned above, should LS1 Speed Inc. be providing this info, or should me and my mechanic be doing these?

At the very least, I should be asking LS1 Speed to provide me with the flow test results, right?

Thanks for your valuable input. I also just noticed that you have 4.10s with the stock rear...how is it holding up? With my parts on the way, we will soon have a fairly similar set up. I hope to get the numbers you did, although you have a slight advantage!
Old 09-09-2003, 09:46 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

...my heads came with a tag with a ton of info....I assume yours should also...
Old 09-09-2003, 12:35 PM
11 Second Club

...my heads came with a tag with a ton of info....I assume yours should also...
Thanks. I'll post the numbers here before I mount that baby up to see what y'all think.