Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Stock LS2 Cam Swap, Need Advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2012, 10:29 AM
Launching!

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

Default Stock LS2 Cam Swap, Need Advice

I am swapping the cam out on my 2005 LS2 Corvette. I ordered the cam from a well known performance shop, so I would assume the parts are correct, however I am getting conflicting opinions on the following questions. Hopefully someone with the right information can help.

I am no cam expert, and this is my first cam install.

The specs of the cam are 223/235@.050, with an advertised duration of 274/285, and a .625/.625 lift. I am using the stock rocker arms, as well as the stock lifters.

This brings me to my first question. I understand the safer than sorry mentality and I am usually an advocate of it. However, I was told by the cam builder there is really no need to change out the lifters for the cam I am installing. Reading online I have found quite a few posts where aftermarket cams have caused stock lifter failure, although no one ever seems to list the specs on the cam they had installed at the time of failure. Am I pretty safe using the stock lifters with this cam or am I required to change them? I am looking to get a long life out of this engine. Currently has 40K miles.

The second question I have is on push rod length. The heads have never been off the vehicle. Cam is already installed, how do I calculate to find the correct push rod length? Some people are telling me I need a 7.400 others are saying I need 7.450"

Thanks,

DG
Old 08-20-2012, 08:22 PM
Mez
Staging Lane

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Danspeed1
I am swapping the cam out on my 2005 LS2 Corvette. I ordered the cam from a well known performance shop, so I would assume the parts are correct, however I am getting conflicting opinions on the following questions. Hopefully someone with the right information can help.