Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

alright New here and new to big blocks

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2014, 11:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default alright New here and new to big blocks

Hey all, My names Mike.

I am new to building old engines and have limited experiance to building newer stuff....
I have search everywheres and there is an overwelming amount of information on different set ups that i have no clue where to begin..

I am hoping the pros on this site could help me out assuming i am even in the correct forum.

I have a 454 from a late 80's camper in my 94 Ford f150 It runs and behaves flawlessly as is.. I just want more power!!!

The engine is completly stock with the RV cam and PP heads

the truck has 3.08 gears which i think work well with the engine and a turbo 400 trans that is also stock from the same camper.

What i am looking for is 400-450 crank HP which should be easy enough with a big block!

I really dont want to spend a lot of money on pistons and such, I am hoping i can get near that 450 mark by adding the correct cam, intake manifold and maybe swapping the 236 heads out for another stock head..

I can get a set of 3964290 heads Which if i am understanding what i have research would up my compression from around 8 to 1 to almost 9 to 1, Is this correct?

If these heads will work better then the PP heads what cam would people recomend? Im looking to Tow occasionly and mostly just have some fun with it on the weekends... Besides BIG BLOCKS sound Awesome

I really have done a bunch of research but there is just so much info ESP. about cam selection that my head hurts with numbers

Please i hope you guys can steer me in the right direction
Old 09-11-2014, 11:34 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Wrong section man....I'm sure the Mods will move it, but this section is for 2005-newer ls engines...
Old 09-11-2014, 11:56 AM
KCS

Received 307 Likes on 207 Posts

You came on LS1tech.com to ask about big blocks?