Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wheel Bearing/Diff sounds

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2009, 01:21 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Default Wheel Bearing/Diff sounds

I'm a bad person. I changed my diff fluid at 76K miles for the first time.

About 2-3 years before that, though, I started hearing some sounds in the rear end. At low speeds, there's just some extra noise that I know isn't tire/road noise, but like a constant dull metallic sound. When I'm coming to a stop I'll hear thump thumps and they'll get fewer and further between as I come to a complete stop. So my friend and I thought it was the diff, but I was lazy....until I changed the diff fluid about 9 months ago. The sound didn't go away at all. My friend said it might be wheel bearings. I'm a noob to all this, so does that sound like a possibility? Are there any other more likely candidates?

I want to say that I did everything right with a diff fluid change, didn't think it was really that hard. Used 2 qts Royal Purple, new gasket, wiped off the collected shavings, no leaks on the floor or visible wetspots on the diff itself. But I noticed that afterwards, if I'm exiting the highway on one of those 270 degree offramps, I'll hear a whirring noise from my backend. As I straighten out the car, the whirring noise goes away. Any ideas?
Old 04-15-2009, 01:50 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i have a 95 formula and im having the same prob..i used the same ryal purpal and all
Old 04-15-2009, 05:36 PM
On The Tree

Im in the middle of changing my wheel bearings this friday for the third time, this is the story.