Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

alternative to cutting hole in tank for aftermarket fuel gauge??

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2009, 11:40 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question alternative to cutting hole in tank for aftermarket fuel gauge??

Hey guys, this is my first time installing aftermarket gauges, so bear with me..I'm a little confused reading this. I'm reading the instructions on installing the fuel level gauge, and the FIRST thing it says to do is cut a hole in the tank. Is this normal?? I REALLY do not want to do that and get metal shavings everywhere.

Does anyone know of ANY way you can install a Classic Instruments fuel level gauge with the stock fuel sender assembly wiring? Or have any pics of the cut-a-hole-in-your-tank setup working?

Here are the instructions they gave me (only 3 pages):

And here is what the sending unit and rheostat looks like:

Is the rheostat supposed to move up and down along with the float? or does it stay put while the float goes up and down?

To anyone out there willing to read all this and point me in the right direction/help me out, can't thank you enough.
Old 06-16-2009, 11:59 PM
TECH Resident

Forgot to mention...car is a 93 camaro with an LS1 in it.
Old 06-17-2009, 06:36 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

What's the ohm range of the gauge? Most aftermarket gauges actually use GM ohm ranges, and this on may too, meaning you can connect the gauge to your factory sending unit. BTW the GM range is 0 -90 Ohms.
Old 06-17-2009, 07:09 AM
Launching!

Didn't gm change the range later on? On the ls1 cars? Just curious?
Old 06-17-2009, 08:53 AM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by rotor vs. piston
What's the ohm range of the gauge? Most aftermarket gauges actually use GM ohm ranges, and this on may too, meaning you can connect the gauge to your factory sending unit. BTW the GM range is 0 -90 Ohms.