Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

What should do to ge this thing shifting better?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2010, 12:52 PM
TECH Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default What should do to ge this thing shifting better?

I just bought a M6 making 408 rwhp on motor. It has 36K on the clock, "if it is correct"
I was told it has a SLP short throw shifter and a "stage 3"

I am going to pull the T-56 and get it shifting better, it shifts OK but it seems a little rough going into 2nd and 6th.

What do you recommend for freshing it up as far as new syncro's I am thinking and where do I get the steel shift fork upgrade kit that I read about on here?

Can anyone recommend a good rebuild manual or DVD?

I have rebuilt the M-21 in my Chevelle years ago so I am nota total Newbie

I will post pics of the clutch when I get it out and measure the disc thickness, to determine if they need replaced.

What about a good aftermarket Throw out bearing?

Is there anything I can do to the short throw SLP shifter (such as better bushings) or is there a better shifter out there, that would be the better route?

Thanks in advance
Old 02-14-2010, 01:27 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by adrynalinjunkie
I just bought a M6 making 408 rwhp on motor. It has 36K on the clock, "if it is correct"
I was told it has a SLP short throw shifter and a "stage 3"

I am going to pull the T-56 and get it shifting better, it shifts OK but it seems a little rough going into 2nd and 6th.
What do you mean by rough?? Do you get gear clash as you're shifting into those 2 gears?? Rarely does 6th gear exhibit any problems.

What do you recommend for freshing it up as far as new syncro's I am thinking and where do I get the steel shift fork upgrade kit that I read about on here?