Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

totally new to tuning, diablo predator

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2010, 12:07 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default totally new to tuning, diablo predator

okay guys, i just got my 99 camaro ss m6, and i'm completely new to tuning. I picked up a diablo predator for next to nothing, so i want to see what i can do with it. The mods on my car are slp MAFS, smooth bellow, slp LM 2 catback, slp lid, and of course the diablo programmer. Is there anything I can do besides just using the "diablo performance tune" ? Sorry to crowd up the forum with more "new to tuning" questions, but I figured there had to be some sort of advantage over the diablo performance tune, due to the slp mafs.
Old 02-18-2010, 06:37 AM
TECH Resident

You can clear DTCs....

If you can have it upgraded to do data logging (about $100). That would be very useful. For now you can watch your fuel trims and adjust that with the Predator to dial in a good AFR @ less than WOT. You can tweak the power enrichment and see if there is any improvement. You need something to watch for knock retard though - the upgrade would do that for you. Data logging is your best friend.

The Predator has advantages but keep in mind it isn't going to give you the ability to monitor like a wideband kit but you haven't invested much money - yet. If the bug bites then you'll go another direction. Have some fun with the Predator, it's one of the better hand held tuners. Just be sure to keep your eyes on the road.
Old 02-18-2010, 07:01 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

actually, for N/A vehicles, the AFR parameter is pretty damn close at WOT... I've had people to comparisons with a wideband on a dyno, and it's only been off by about .1 lower than what the wideband was reading, so it's still on the safe side... and also had a vette guy and a gto guy tell me that their predator afr at wot was the same as what their widebands were reading...