Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

LS2 402 stroker

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2011, 11:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS2 402 stroker

Hi guys,

So I bought an LS2 block and I have a 1975 Pontiac Trans Am that's it's going into. It's going to be a 6.6L twin turbo mated to a Tremec T56. So my first step is to get the block to 6.6L. I know there is a 402 stroker kit out there, so here are my questions:

If I get a 402 stroker kit, can I get it with forged pistons, connecting rods and crankshaft?

If I get a 402 stroker kit, what needs to be done to the block? (I'm new to boring/stroking etc...)

I'd rather bore it (or some bore, some stroke) rather than stroke it only... can the LS2 block be bored out to 6.6L?

Any other pointers? Advice? Dos and Don'ts?

Thanks in advance!
Old 05-09-2011, 11:52 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It would be cheaper to just buy a stroker kit with a 4" crank and call it a day.
You can't bore a LS2 block to a 6.6L with stock liners. If you want a much bigger bore you're going to need to have the block resleeved and that's not too cheap...around 2K.
Just buy a complete stroker kit and it'll be much cheaper. I've never heard of anyone buying a stroker kit with anything other than forged pistons for the LS engines.
Old 05-09-2011, 11:58 AM

I see. Thanks for the info, to be honest that sounds much more appealing, I'd rather save the 2k!

So what additional work to the block needs to be done if I get the stroker kit (if any)?
Old 05-09-2011, 04:35 PM
Staging Lane

Look im not trying to come across as a *** here but if your totally new to engine building. A 402 twin turbo setup is not a good place to start. Hire it done by someone very knowledgable in LS engines. Im currently building a NA 434 and im having ERL Performance build it. So far they have been very nice to work with.
Old 05-09-2011, 05:26 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by xRipx