Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

OK, I'm diving right in.....

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2011, 01:47 PM
On The Tree

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Default OK, I'm diving right in.....

I'm replacing my tranny at home with help from a friend, on the ground, with no idea what I'm doing. I have watched the 3 part T56 videos on youtube and it looks pretty simple. I am a mechanic on the railroad by day so I know how to use the tools. My 3rd gear is pretty much shot. Can't really use it anymore and 5th grinds everytime. Here is what I have picked out for parts:

Car has 455rwhp and 400rwtq. Does this look like a good setup for what I have? Is there anything more I need to get? I want to do this right the first time. I have had the car 4 months and the tranny just crapped out on me. I am not happy and haven't told the wife yet. It was a stock tranny. Bumms me out but **** happens. I want to do it myself so I can do it again if need be and not have to rely on anyone else. Also I have a trust issue with the places around here. I just don't trust anyone who says "I think we can do it". I will take all the advice you can give me. Please, help me do this right!!!
Old 11-20-2011, 05:45 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Here is a DIY w/ pics I did when I did my clutch. I had a friend help me lower and raise the trans with a floor jack. When I swapped my trans I bought a trans jack from Harbor Freight and did it by myself pretty easily.

T56 Removal and Install
Old 11-20-2011, 08:52 PM
Launching!

taken mine down a few times with that guide. With 1 assistant and jackstands we can pull/install a transmission faster than I can change the plugs lol.
Old 11-21-2011, 04:00 PM
On The Tree

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Soul Crusher
taken mine down a few times with that guide. With 1 assistant and jackstands we can pull/install a transmission faster than I can change the plugs lol.