Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Newb to FI, got some ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2012, 10:53 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Newb to FI, got some ?'s

I'm new to the whole FI scene, and curious about some stuff. I'm building a 89 hatchback foxbody, 347 LS, Ebay GT45, 317 heads, TH400 w/trans brake

So far I have the bottom end together,
-Stock Crank
-Compstar Callies H-beams 6.125
-Diamond Racing 11503 (-8.6cc) Pistons

But I'm kinda lost on some stuff:
-what waste gate is ideal?
-how much boost I can safely run (some say 10lbs others say more but not exact amounts)
-whats the ideal cam to run with this setup (A lot say the LS9 cam, some say 02 LS6, maybe even a custom grind?)
-Should I run water meth? is there any real cons to using it? And If I choose to run it, is a FMIC over-kill? I noticed some guys don't use one when running Water meth.
-Whats the ideal boost controller?
-Best BOV for this application?
-what lb injectors do I need?

And lastly would the edelbroke XT pro-flo intake be overkill for this build? I've heard of a lot of guys saying just to run the LS6 intake.

The goal for this build is to hit low tens at least, the car is pretty much gutted, no a/c or heat, no back seats, kirkey seats up front.

This build isn't really a budget build other then the Ebay turbo, I've heard alot of good things about them and for the price I figured why not give it a try, if I have issues or wanna go bigger down the road I'll look into a more main stream business for one.

Just looking for some answers, like I said not a budget build so give me some honest opinions on whats ideal and whats a good HP expectancy, this will be mostly a drag car that will hit the streets everyonce in awhile.

Thanks.
Old 08-28-2012, 03:02 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Have many of the same questions so curious on answers. I am doing twin 76mm build though.
Old 08-28-2012, 03:40 PM
Launching!