Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie VE question

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2004, 02:16 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Newbie VE question

I have tried to do a search and can't find my answer. I am seeing all of these forumlas to calculate and tune for VE, but what do you change and why? Lets say you come up with the value for your VE, now what? What do you compare it with and where/what would be benefical to change? Also, my MAF table is stock, but I am running a descreened MAF, will that have an effect on anything?

Thanks
Old 04-06-2004, 02:43 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I am a newbie to tuning too so experts please correct me if i'm wrong. When you change your camshaft (or heads, etc) the increased overlap kills your volumetric efficiency at low rpms. When you start your car it runs in open loop off the ve tables using rpm, map etc. If you don't change your ve tables after your cam swap your pcm will think the car is taking in more air than it really is and make you run rich causing the engine to surge or stall. So what do you change your ve values to? A lot of people change them to 50% at 400 rpm, 75% at 900, etc, and adjust using a trial and error process. Calculating ve from your maf readings would eliminate the trial and error, allowing to figure out the engine's true volumetric efficiency. I guess ve is used in a lot more places than open loop idle, but i think this is the most common reason for changing your ve tables.
Old 04-07-2004, 01:14 AM
TECH Junkie

Thanks for the reply. I tried to figure this out today and this is what I came up with. I did the formula for one of my data points and it was something like this. The calculated VE was 1364 and my VE table showed at that MAP and RPM, 1280. So do I change this table to 1364 and do more loging? What effects will this have on my car?