Appearance & Detailing Interior & Exterior Appearance Modifications
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

My thicker leather steering wheel wrap from Redline Goods...pics inside (UPDATED)

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2013, 02:08 AM
TECH Addict

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Cool My thicker leather steering wheel wrap from Redline Goods...pics inside (UPDATED)

I gotta say, this was an extremely challenging undertaking. It was honestly one of the hardest things I've done to date on my car. Fortunately I am very skilled and after much thinking, patients and just slowly getting at it, I was able to get it done. Taking the wheel off and disabling the air bag was much easier than I thought. Also, you have to know how to set up the needle and thread as well as start and finish your stitching, but I already knew all that. I was originally going to go with a baseball stitch, but that was going to be a nightmare so instead I studied their 3 YouTube videos along with their stitching pattern. It looks great with the darker color thread. I wasn't too fond of it with high contrasting thread of pictures I had seen. I had to put the thing down for a few days because I had doubts I could do it. I thought for the life of me they sent the smaller wrap to be used without the padding. It was the tight curves of the wheel I thought was impossible to do. Just pinching it with my fingers, it looked like I didn't have nearly enough material like I was a centimeter short or something. Well after just buckling down and trying it with the thread, to my surprise tucked in almost perfectly. Don't get me wrong, it was still very tough, but I made it work. I probably spent a good 8 hours on the whole project over a period of 2 weeks. If I had to do it again, I would be much quicker, but I'd charge more than the cost of the wrap to do it for someone!