Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4160e TransGo problem 2-3 shift

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2013, 12:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4160e TransGo problem 2-3 shift

Hey all - newbie here so sorry of this is addressed somewhere else. If it is please point me that way.

I just installed the Transgo 4160e-HD2 kit and a corvette servo. I first had just the kit installed, but had slipping on 2-3 shifts and then installed the corvette servo and that problem was fixed. A new problem has come up where it almost red-lines before it shifts from 2-3 and 3-4 when anything greater then half throttle. The 1-2 shift is great and I can have it shift faster if I let off the gas.

Thanks for any help!
Old 03-27-2013, 01:46 PM

Received 426 Likes on 325 Posts

Originally Posted by eschweig
Hey all - newbie here so sorry of this is addressed somewhere else. If it is please point me that way.

I just installed the Transgo 4160e-HD2 kit and a corvette servo. I first had just the kit installed, but had slipping on 2-3 shifts and then installed the corvette servo and that problem was fixed. A new problem has come up where it almost red-lines before it shifts from 2-3 and 3-4 when anything greater then half throttle. The 1-2 shift is great and I can have it shift faster if I let off the gas.

Thanks for any help!
Hitting redline on the 2-3 shift is an indication that something is slipping - either the 3-4 clutch or the converter. If the only change you made was to install the corvette servo, then it sounds like the 3-4 clutch is seriously slipping.

Q1 - What year is your trans?

Q2 - Assuming it is pre 2006, did you remember to install the thick washer on the HD2 boost valve?
If not, your line pressure will be low and everything will slip.