Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

Wheel & Time Amateur Question!

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2013, 05:22 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wheel & Time Amateur Question!

Hi guys, I bought my Firebird (1998) about 2 months ago. I'm wanting to get a nice new set of wheels for it. I am loving these Corvette style rims I seen on oewheels.

http://www.oewheelsllc.com/Wheels_3/...2#.UjokRMasiSp

Now, I am very new to doing things with cars so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I am posting this here to get a straight forward answer.

I am wanting to get my tires separately from oewheels for pricing and brand. Now, the thing I have trouble with is knowing what kind of tire will fit the wheel and the car. I don't want to do any sort of fender rolling/trimming, and I don't want it to rub! The sort of tire I was told by OEWheels that would be good would be a 245/40/17, but I don't really know what these numbers mean. Also, the wheels are 17".

Basically, I want to know if these rims will fit that type of tire (or if there is one better). And if it will be a good fit.

Again, any help will be appreciated. I hope I posted this in the right spot, I figure you guys will be the best help!
Old 09-18-2013, 05:32 PM
TECH Enthusiast

245 is the section width, not counting any raised lettering or side wall rim protector
40 is the aspect ration, meaning that the side wall height is 40% of the width
17 is obviously the rim diameter....

you definitely will not rub. The only time that modification is almost a must is running 315/35/17s and larger or 295/35/18 and larger. that usually includes BFH, possible fender rolling, bump stop cutting.

personally I would try to find a 17x9 or 17x9.5 and run a 275/40/17 a pretty decent selection of tires in that size and you get added traction and handling.