Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to ls1 tech. Swapping E30 BMW to 5.3

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2013, 07:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New to ls1 tech. Swapping E30 BMW to 5.3

Hey guys, I'm new to ls1 tech.. I do have a couple of questions. Like it states above, I'm a couple days away from tearing apart my 84 two door e30 BMW to put a 5.3 in.. I'm really wanting to put a cam in it. Also have to use ls1 intake to clear hood... But my questions are what cam to run? The cam I really want to run is a MS3 with .650 springs. That's really what I'm wanting if I can even run that cam in a 5.3?? My buddy was trying to talk me into running a Vindicator cam. Which I know is way to big for what I want... The motor will be stock other than cam and intake... So guys I need some opinions on cams, and rather or not to run the MS3 the cam I really want. Thanks guys!
Old 09-26-2013, 09:49 AM
TECH Resident

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I don't have any input on the cams, however if you're going to go to the trouble of a cam swap, you might want to consider an intake upgrade from the LS1. It works and all, but it's the poorest performing intake of the bunch. I think it's even a step down from the big ugly truck intake in torque.

I'm not the most educated on intakes, as I am just using a stock intake that came on my LS2, but I think the LS6 intake performs much better. You could probably also use the LS6 cam in your 5.3
Old 09-26-2013, 12:15 PM
Teching In

What are you using the e30 for? That 5.3 is going to be a boat anchor up front! Make sure to compensate with stiffer spring rate, better shocks, and MUCH better brakes!
Old 09-26-2013, 12:41 PM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by e30polak
What are you using the e30 for? That 5.3 is going to be a boat anchor up front! Make sure to compensate with stiffer spring rate, better shocks, and MUCH better brakes!