Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

is boost referencing a fuel system necessary?

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2013, 06:37 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default is boost referencing a fuel system necessary?

I am new to the turbo world so I am hoping someone out there can answer my fuel delivery questions. I have a 1987 Grand Prix with a lq4 that is currently carbed. I will be going to a fuel injection system out of a 2001 chevy truck. My question is, is it necessary to boost reference a fuel system? I was planning on running a gsl392 walbro fuel pump, but have been told that it is only capable of 60psi. Aren't the factory fuel systems on ls equipped vehicles set to 60 psi? Is the reason people boost reference a fuel system is so that they can run a smaller injector and still get the fuel flow needed when under boost? If I can maintain 60 psi and have the properly sized injector to make the horsepower I want to make, will I have any problems? Any help would be appreciated.
Old 12-15-2013, 06:50 PM
TECH Apprentice

It isn't something you need but is highly recommended. Its a safety factor that makes it safer to run boost. You have a much higher chance of going lean and going boom if you don't have a boost referenced system. The way I look at it is if you are spending the money to run high horsepower on the car don't cheap out on it now. It will cost you a lot more for a new motor than it would to but boost referenced regulator, return line if you don't have one and a bigger fuel pump.
Old 12-15-2013, 09:01 PM
Teching In