Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

L76 from G8GT to GM A-body

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2013, 10:02 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default L76 from G8GT to GM A-body

Hi all, I am new to the LS world, but learning fast. I have gotten great info from this site, but have not found exact answers to the following questions so I am starting this new thread. I purchased an L76 from a 08 G8GT. 39K miles and want to convert to my GM A-body. It is complete with with wire harness. It seemed like a good start, Ok price, with low miles and basically an LS2 block, L92 heads and LS3 type intake, 37# injectors. The plan was not to touch the bottom end, swap cam/lifters/springs and proper computer programing and be 450-500hp with decent torque through out. Concerns as follows:
Disable DOD:To disable the DOD function is not just a cam swap. It will be about $1500-$2000 (this includes the pump mod). Thats a lot of $$$. Does it make sense to go through this or start with a non-DOD motor?
Compression: L76 compression is 9.5:1. Can I make the power I want with this low compression ratio in an LS?
DBW: The TB is 90mm DBW. Is it as easy as just replacing with a DBC TB? I don't want the expense or hassle of adding a DBW pedal.

I do not have a computer or harness for the car. Not sure yet what I will do for that.

Ultimate Goal is to be deep in the 12s. Current setup is SBC 350 about 280RWHP, TKO600 12bolt 3:73. I run 13.8s with 2sec 60ft time.

Looking forward to some guidance.
Old 12-23-2013, 10:19 AM
TECH Regular

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

what year chevelle
DBW TO DBC is an easy swap
deleating DOD should not be anywhere near that expensive
9.5 is good for compresion , when you are changing springs , have the heads milled , and run a thin head gasket if you want more
you will need to remove heads to change lifters , s--can the dod lifters
ive done a 64 and am starting a 66
Old 12-23-2013, 10:59 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts