Fueling & Injection Fuel Pumps | Injectors | Rails | Regulators | Tanks

LS computer for non-LS engine

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2014, 07:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS computer for non-LS engine

OK, I am a newbie here and I am trying to help a buddy convert his 1973 Cadillac 500cid engine to EFI. He wants to use the GM LS-type control system, in particular, the 411 PCM. I did some research and I agree that this PCM has a lot of capabilities and there are several sources for programming software to program and tune it. However, this PCM is looking for a 24x VRS crank signal and a 1x VRS cam signal from the engine. On LS engines these sensors are built into the engine. So on the Cadillac 500cid engine, how can I get the required crank and cam signals?

I have looked for aftermarket Distributors, but all I have found is the Accel Dual sync with uses hall sensor. I could make the cam sensor work but the crank sensor data rate and profile is 8X. I could make a distributor the provide the cam signal pretty easily, but what to do for the 24x crank signal?

Anyone every done anything like this?

P.S. I have made a 1970 Cad 472 engine run with Ford EFI, using a 1990 SEFI-MA EEC IV system from a 5.0L Mustang. The key to that was making a TFI distributor to fit in the Cad motor to get the cam and crank signals. So I am familiar with the Cad engines and with EFI systems in general.
Old 06-13-2014, 10:07 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Have you been to Thirdgen.org
There are a lot of hacks for the GM ECM.
http://www.thirdgen.org/
Have you looked at MegaSquirt?
They support about any ignition pattern imaginable.
http://www.msextra.com/forums/index....112a6a1c5d28ad

This is how I set up a 36-1 trigger wheel for a traditional Pontiac engine.
Trigger wheel is bolted to the back side of the crank dampener.