Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MAC Midlength Questions?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2004, 10:30 PM
FormerVendor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MAC Midlength Questions?

Im A newbie and im purchasing Mac midlengths and want to try and put them on myself! Is there a site where i can read a step by step instruction to installing these and a y-pipe?? Also, do the Mac's all come coated? Where do i need to grind to make more flow? Do i need gaskets?? If i grind them, will i need to have them coated again? Please help me out! Thank you
Old 11-18-2004, 10:41 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by GAME OVER
Im A newbie and im purchasing Mac midlengths and want to try and put them on myself! Is there a site where i can read a step by step instruction to installing these and a y-pipe?? Also, do the Mac's all come coated? Where do i need to grind to make more flow? Do i need gaskets?? If i grind them, will i need to have them coated again? Please help me out! Thank you
Do a search for " Mac Install"..

I'm not sure if all the Macs come coated. I'm sure you have the option to buy them coated or uncoated just like all other headers.

I don't think that you grind anything if I remember correctly alot of people remove the ball flange to get better air flow. If the mod is done carefully, you should be able to weld a regular flange on there without doing too much damage to the coating.

Header gaskets: post people just reuse the stockers. They're made to be reused. Multi-layer metal gaskets. Just stay away from the paper gaskets if that's what they come with.
Old 11-18-2004, 10:49 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I believe that they do come coated and that there is no option for non-coated. For a little bit more power, grind down the welds where the primaries attach to the flange. The weld is excess and blocks some flow.