Sponsored by:

LS1 from ebay? into a genII camaro? your knowledge pls

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2007, 12:33 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS1 from ebay? into a genII camaro? your knowledge pls

Hello everyone,
This is my first time looking deeply into LS1's (this past week). to start out im not clueless around cars, although i have more to learn than i know, i know more about mechanical than electrical, and classic than modern. Its getting time for college, and my parents would like me to have a little bigger car (my dad just wants another project). so were looking at either a camaro or firebird (70-73 camaro or 67-73 firebird). now, this is all still in the works and wont be followed through until the middle of summer, but hypothetically, lets say we got a 71 camaro for this post and that were on a pretty tight budget, were only putting money into the drivetrain, no interior compforts and it HAS to be a manual (looking at a camaro, no engine/trans for $1800) Ive been looking on ebay for an LS1/t56 combo for about $3500, but are these reliable enough to stick into a car, and expect to run for another 30k-50k miles relatively smoothely, if it has < 88k on it already, or will it need a full rebuild costing $5000+ ? How hard is it putting an LS1 + t56 into a 2nd gen camaro, are the motor and trans mounts the only things that need to be modified to put in if the cars having no a/c - just the essentials? Thanks guys for reading this long-ish post, i hope its clear enough to understand, if not i can clarify my questions. thanks in advance!
Old 05-29-2007, 01:52 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

with ebay your always going into a gamble, you might get a great motor, you might get a lemon just the chance your going to have to take...just look at it as a learning experience either way
Old 05-29-2007, 02:09 AM
Teching In