LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Need help on replacing valve seals...

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2007, 05:09 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Need help on replacing valve seals...

Ok discovered the other day while changing my spark plugs on the new engine ( about 8-9k miles on it) that the 2 plugs in the middle on driver side had oil on threads. All others were great. I was also burning oil about 2 months after oil change. Low oil light would come on when it was not time to change oil yet..

Anyways i know i need a spring compressor tool. I have to order the vavle seals from autozone (felpro/viton ones). I also have a air compressor that i can use so the vavle will not drop into the cyclinder wall..

I have never done this job before so i do not know what to expect. I have done plenty of other hard jobs, opti replace, water pump replace, spark plug replace, long tube install, oil pan drop, etc....

So what are the steps in order to do this, plus what tools do i need. I have heard of something you can place in the spark plug hole and use the compressor to blow air in there, but do not know what it is...

Any help would be great...

Thanks

Randy
Old 09-17-2007, 11:24 AM
12 Second Club

i know someone does ?
Old 11-01-2007, 11:07 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Did you ever find your answer? I might be trying to tackle this one on my own also and dont know where to start!
Old 11-01-2007, 03:42 PM
12 Second Club

Kinda but i never attempted it yet. I know you have to pull the vavle cover, take off rocker, take off spring with spring compressor, then the valve seal should come off..
Old 11-01-2007, 04:10 PM
Launching!

Wish I could offer some advice as I had my valve seals replaced...one thing I can tell you is if you decide to have a shop do it, call a BUNCH of places.