Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

10'' sub with stock amp?

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2007, 09:54 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 10'' sub with stock amp?

Hey guys, I'm new to this stuff and i was wondering if you could add a 10'' 250 watt sub woofer using the stock monsoon amp? if any of that makes any sense.
thanks
Old 12-23-2007, 10:02 PM
Teching In

anybody?
Old 12-23-2007, 10:21 PM
On The Tree

I would say no. I would be surprised if you got this to work to any level of satisfaction.

You might as well just spring for an aftermarket amp and do it right. The monsoon amp isn't very good for what it does even IMO. I'm looking at replacing my monsoon amp solely because its the weakest link in my system right now.
Old 12-23-2007, 11:02 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I wouldn't.
I think the sub would draw too much power from the amp.
And the factory amp is a POS IMO.
If you did that the sub would never hit like it should and it would be desorted at high volume levels.
Old 12-24-2007, 12:00 AM
Teching In

ok thanks guys
Old 12-24-2007, 05:06 AM
TECH Cry Baby BOSS APPROVED!

Originally Posted by Gordon0652
Tell us how you really feel.
Old 12-24-2007, 06:21 AM
Banned

LOL!! The Monsoon amp isn't bad for what it is made for. It is not made to run a 10" sub however. Basically the amp is getting fed a distorted signal from the stock CD player. So it amplifies a distorted signal. Give it a clean signal from a quality aftermarket unit and it does alot better, especially after you replace the stock speakers, then add a 10" or 12" sub with an amp to get the low end. It sounds pretty good after that.
For the best overall sound quality an aftermarket amp and speakers with a sub is recommended with an aftermarket HU.
Old 12-24-2007, 10:16 AM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post