Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Typical what should I do question.

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2008, 09:53 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Typical what should I do question.

Basically I have about $800 to spend on the car in the next 2 months and I've been trying to decide what shock/spring set up to go with. I was trying to hold out and get the Koni/Strano set up, but not enough funds to build my deck, install gutters, and buy all the parts. I think I know what the answer will be, but thought I'd check. I am wondering if I should just get the Koni 4/3 set up and keep the stock springs, or should I go for a KYB/Strano spring setup? I've pretty much decided on the Koni's and then somewhere down the line pick up the springs. I know it would be easier to do it all at once, but I am an ASE mechanic with ready access to spring compressors and the like, so no big deal labor wise. Also, if I do the Koni's, I was thinking I could run the springs on the lower perch on the front and do the heater hose mod on the rear so I would atleast lose the 4x4 look. Let me know what you guys think. Especially Sam if you have a chance to chime in, otherwise I'll be in touch soon to order whatever I decide.
Old 03-19-2008, 10:46 PM
TECH Fanatic

Get the Koni's and cut your stock springs to the height you want. It works if you are on a budget.
Old 03-19-2008, 10:48 PM
12 Second Club

Originally Posted by CW00BlackTA
Get the Koni's and cut your stock springs to the height you want. It works if you are on a budget.
that does sound like a good option actually
Old 03-20-2008, 05:08 PM
TECH Fanatic

I would just get the Konis and run the stock springs until you have enough to get a new set.
Old 03-21-2008, 11:25 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 143 Likes on 93 Posts

Originally Posted by 01SSRMS