Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

got my Kooks headers, a little disappointed

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2008, 06:29 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default got my Kooks headers, a little disappointed

hey everyone,

first off, let me state that overall i am VERY happy with my headers and am not *really* complaining, but posting more of a caution to anyone with/getting/thinking about any headers or other parts i guess...mine just happen to be Kooks...and that i am a welder by profession, so this stuff is very apparent to me...here they are:

the UPS man JUST dropped them off, about 15 minutes before i posted this. when i pulled them out of the box, i was very pleased and actually a little excited because these are the first "cool" parts i've got for my new build.

upon further inspection, i noticed the welds all looked great, a little spatter, but nothing hardly noticeable really. the quality is absolutly amazing, well worth the money (thanks Byunspeed!). the new design of the collectors is awsome and the flanges are ground flat and the welds inside the primaries are smoothed off as well...but that flange grinding, therein lies my issue with these parts.

as shown in the pics below, the headers were not de-burred before they shipped out. when i pulled them from the box, i grabbed the primary tubes. had i went for the flange with a firm grasp, i could have been cut. not lascerated, but cut pretty good for sure. check it out: