LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

True roller timing set

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2010, 04:01 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default True roller timing set

My builder has requested I find him a true roller timing set, with at least 3 crank keyways for my LT1 385 build. Only problem is the local parts store is telling me there is no true roller timing set that's adjustable. What is everybody else running? This is my first build, and I keep running into problems!

Thanks,

Amanda
Old 10-21-2010, 04:33 PM
TECH Enthusiast

not many sets to choose from really with the opti in there. im still trying to figure out what im going with. ill probably go with the LT4 HD
Old 10-21-2010, 04:39 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

This is where you step in to tell your builder that there is no point in running an adjustable timing set with an LT1 where the ignition timing is controlled via the PCM (unless you are running a dizzy/carb setup). May I recommend the Cloyes 3145 double roller, if you are converting to an electric water pump?
Old 10-21-2010, 08:08 PM
TECH Veteran

or a 3146
Old 10-21-2010, 08:51 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by RamAir95TA
This is where you step in to tell your builder that there is no point in running an adjustable timing set with an LT1 where the ignition timing is controlled via the PCM (unless you are running a dizzy/carb setup). May I recommend the Cloyes 3145 double roller, if you are converting to an electric water pump?
Since when has there been no advantage to getting a cam degreed in correctly? If there was no advantage to advancing or retarding a cam there never would have been a timing set made that allowed it. As for the timing being off a degree or two because of advancing or retarding the cam that is easy to fix once the engine is running and on the dyno getting tuned.

To the OP
1. If your engine builder cannot figure out something as simple as this you
might want to shop elsewere