LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 only runs on starter fluid,

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2015, 09:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 only runs on starter fluid,

I have a LT1 out of a 1995 Impala. It starts strong but dies after about 2 seconds unless I spray short blasts of starter fluid in (tested for about 30 seconds).

Fuel psi at rail 42. But quickly drops to zero immediately when off. I will check all connections and regulator tonight, but was wondering if this would cause it not to run?

My other thought about what could be the problem would be the security system. I was told by the previous owner that vats was programmed out. (What method he used I am unsure of.) I was messing around with replacing a heater core and worry that I might have lifted a ground or pulled a wire. I am still learning but have read about a 30hz signal needed or a jumper on the starter enable relay. Is this a possibility also for my no run situation?

Last edited by ThomTT; 05-07-2015 at 10:03 AM.
Old 05-07-2015, 10:24 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by ThomTT
I have a LT1 out of a 1995 Impala. It starts strong but dies after about 2 seconds unless I spray short blasts of starter fluid in (tested for about 30 seconds).

Fuel psi at rail 42. But quickly drops to zero immediately when off. I will check all connections and regulator tonight, but was wondering if this would cause it not to run?

My other thought about what could be the problem would be the security system. I was told by the previous owner that vats was programmed out. (What method he used I am unsure of.) I was messing around with replacing a heater core and worry that I might have lifted a ground or pulled a wire. I am still learning but have read about a 30hz signal needed or a jumper on the starter enable relay. Is this a possibility also for my no run situation?
You would get no crank and no FP prime if the theft relay was bad.