LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Replacing the stock muffler (not catback)

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2007, 10:18 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing the stock muffler (not catback)

Hello guys, don't bash me to hard, I've used to search button but can't find what I need. I am looking to get a new muffler, but was wondering if i can just purchase a muffler to replace the stock one. Not really looking for more power, or a full catback (trying to keep the car stockish for reliability), just a slightly louder more throaty sound. Do most of the aftermarket mufflers fit in the stock location and can be directly welded up? Sorry for the ignorant questions, but i am new to f-body's The main mufflers I would be interested in are the Hooker, and the Flowmaster because I really enjoy the sound. Would these be a good choice?
Old 01-07-2007, 10:24 PM
12 Second Club

yeah,you can just replace the muffler,but that dosnt make your car more reliable.a better flowing exhaust makes it so your engine dosnt have to work as hard and make it more reliable.
Old 01-07-2007, 11:29 PM
TECH Addict

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I got a flowmaster 40 series in my trans am, almost everyone here will tell you that a flowmaster is restrictive and that it robs horses compared to others... but it sure sounds nice, deep throaty sound!!!!!!!!!
Old 01-07-2007, 11:48 PM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Q: Do most of the aftermarket mufflers fit in the stock location and can be directly welded up?

A: Yep, most are designed to do exactly that and when installed correctly should have zero problems. How ever it worth going to a reputable place instead of saving a few bucks, I have seen some local muffler shops that people used to save a few bucks come out looking like trash. Most all after market cat backs, as long as they are for the correct year, should be direct replacements.

Q: Sorry for the ignorant questions, but i am new to f-body's