Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

reverse wooooeeeessss

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2013, 04:39 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default reverse wooooeeeessss

just wondering what you all think about shaving the 1/8th" off the shift fork so it engages the gear better. I believe that is why it wouldn't go into gear even before i started to really grind em when I HAD to go in reverse for whatever reason. I can get it in reverse if i bend the shifter because of the force being put on it and the car is on flat ground, otherwise seems useless (especially if it's icy/snowy out). pics are at http://flic.kr/p/h9tsdg please let me know what you think about the shape of gears/synchro, also for reverse should i buy nylon pads for the shift fork, or go with bronze? does it matter... obviously my old nylon ones are gone. just looking for a list from someone w/experience this is my first time tearing a gearbox apart.
Old 11-01-2013, 08:58 PM
TECH Resident

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Keys are broken, Syncro teeth are blunt, can you flip it to the other side or has it already been flipped?
Reverse gear teeth are blunt
Old 11-01-2013, 11:29 PM
Teching In

Default fliped

It's already been flipped the other side looks worse imo I've been checking prices for synchro and gear~300.00. I've already shaved the 1/8" off as I've ordered keys/pads/snap ring so just waiting for parts then i spose i'll put it back together and see if it will work. Would filing the teeth to make them more the shape they came in make them better, or would i just be removing material that would make the end results worse? If it engages the 1/8th that's supposedly missing It would seem to me that it should work fine, but I really don't know.
Old 11-09-2013, 01:39 AM
Teching In

Mine looked the same before I shaved the fork, worked great after the the fix and it's been like that for years.
Old 11-09-2013, 02:01 PM
Teching In

Default sweet!