Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Trans/Clutch problem diag. Need help.

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2006, 02:29 PM
BMW ///M Nerd

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Trans/Clutch problem diag. Need help.

I'm stumped on this one. This is the first time I've had one of these cars apart. I'm a BMW tech, so this setup is a lot different.

The car trys to engage when in neutral, with the clutch out. A grinding noise comes and goes. This car is all stock driveline wise. I blew the stock rear, so now it has an auto rear in it, and a 3.5" LPE driveshaft.

I drove the car from my house to the shop, approx. 5 miles or so. As soon as I put the clutch in, the car drives fine. No noise from the clutch/gearbox as soon as I depress the pedal. The car goes into gear fine, and drives normal, no slipping what-so-ever.

With the car up in the air, in nuetral with the clutch out the rear wheels will turn, but the grinding noise comes and goes. As soon as you can't hear the grinding, there's no movement of the driveline.

I already went ahead and ordered a Spec 3. So I have all the necessary parts to put the car back together.

My initial thoughts were:
-pressure plate had come apart, possibly a finger or two was damaged...
-pilot bearing was junk, and binding up and releasing
-throwout bearing/hydraulics had somehow **** the bed
-Input shaft bearing toast

Everything seems to be fine in those regards. My flywheel and pressure plate surfaces are pretty well toasted though.

There's also a lot of play at the end of the throwout bearing/slave assembly. The bearing itself has about 1/4" of movement in any direction.

The input shaft on the tranny has no play in it in/out. Approx .002/.003 thousandths up and down movement which is normal to me. Everything rotates fine, no binding that I can find.

My buddy can't resurface/balance my clutch assembly until Monday, so I'm on hold.

Thoughts?