Sponsored by:

Look at my block

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2014, 01:39 AM
dig
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Look at my block

So I picked up my first LM7 a few days ago, acquired a stand/hoist and went at it all night tearing it down and getting it mounted on the stand. This is my first time disassembling and engine like this and re building one, I snapped a few pictures, can anyone tell me how it looks after being broken down?

Old 01-12-2014, 05:40 AM
On The Tree

It's hard to see the cylinder because of the lighting but the heads look good and are showing signs of routine oil changes because no sludge. The water jackets look a bit rusty though as if only water was ran through it at one time grab a straight edge and check the deck and heads for straightness.
Old 01-12-2014, 08:38 AM
TECH Enthusiast

What did the oil pan look like? Any sludge build up? If you haven't cleaned it yet run a magnet thru it and check for metal flakes. Same is true for the oil filter if you still have it open it up and look for metal. If it's clean then you know that there are no major failures in the bearings and lifters.
Old 01-12-2014, 05:07 PM
dig
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by MadFirehawk86
It's hard to see the cylinder because of the lighting but the heads look good and are showing signs of routine oil changes because no sludge. The water jackets look a bit rusty though as if only water was ran through it at one time grab a straight edge and check the deck and heads for straightness.
I think this may have been a flood vehicle? There was a lot of dirty and stuff under the intake manifold. I will check the deck for straightness tonight
Old 01-12-2014, 05:08 PM
dig
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by ss performance