Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam help...CA smog requirements - YIKES

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2004, 12:00 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Cam help...CA smog requirements - YIKES

I have seen several LS1 Tech threads posted by J-Rod on Cams and in one particular stated:

"I can make just about any cam for any application.
---
No smog worries right....

Go with the 218/218 109LSA. Performance is nearly the same as the TR224/224 112LSA, but with better valve-events so low-midrange power will be substantially higher. Upper rpm power will be nearly identical."

I have a 2004 C5 w/automatic and 3.15 rear end. It already has GMS Ram Air cold air induction and Z06 TI exhaust out the back. I am a daily driver and I don't pretend to be speed racer on city streets. I like lopey cams but because I live in CA, it presents a challenge with Mr. SMOG sniffer. Over the past 20 years, I have had everything from nasty, torquey Chevy and Ford big blocks to simple stone stock Chevy 350's. I love putting the pedal to the metal and winding out the gears but that was then and this is now.

Can someone help? Anyone? Anyone? Anyone?

Thanks, Ed

Last edited by Vettlldo; 07-28-2004 at 10:03 PM.
Old 07-28-2004, 12:10 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Most people from California will recommend a 224 with a 114 LSA as the max cam to pass emmisions. Use a 220/114 to be safe. I don't think you'll get a lopey cam with a 112 or under LSA will get you by unless you get a great tune.

Thanks,
Glenn
Old 07-28-2004, 12:13 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

A 109 LSA will not pass. 114 LSA is the higest that will pass. Some have gotten away with 112 LSA, but not without one hell of a tune job. I have the TR 224/224 114, and am confident it will pass.
Old 07-28-2004, 03:01 AM
jrp
SN95 Director

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts