Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

powerbass amps

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2008, 05:22 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default powerbass amps

a friend from school said he'd sell me his powerbass 800 watt 4-channel amp for $50. my sound system's stock except for a head unit now, but i figured i'd use it to power my door speakers when i get new ones. anybody have any experience with these amps?
Old 01-24-2008, 05:45 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have no experience with the brand. However, I looked it up and it has 2 15A fuses. I wouldn't expect more than about 50WRMS per channel tops. 30A at 13.5V is about 400W, but it's a class A/B amp which are only around 50-60% efficient. If we say 60%, that's no more than 60WRMS per channel. And if they're BSing on the power, perhaps they BS on other specs like SNR too. You could have as much hiss as music content for all we know.

Just tell him to let you try it out. If you like it, buy it. The price is good if it does noticibly better than your HU.
Old 01-24-2008, 06:42 PM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I carry the Powerbass brand and they do have good power. As Dragonrage pointed out they are overrated as far as the power rating but they are reliable and clean.

Last edited by KEE AUDIO; 01-25-2008 at 03:21 AM.
Old 01-24-2008, 07:04 PM
TECH Fanatic

ok cool. how big of an upgrade do you think it would be over the stock monsoon amp? and i'd be running component door speakers and midbass in the sail panels, i'll probably take out the rear 4'' ones. i figure for $50 it would be worth it
Old 01-24-2008, 09:05 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

huge because it will allow you to run your own crossovers
Old 01-25-2008, 03:23 AM
Banned