Any welders out there??

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2010, 10:27 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Any welders out there??

I got my certificate in welding and am thinking about buying an welder sa250 or something of that sort and going out on my own. The instructors at school say its money to be made out there however ive been looking via internet and it isnt really much for welders without experience out there and all the jobs are in south texas and houston. What are yalls opinions on what to do?

Also what welding machine would yall go with, ive learned, stick,tig,flux,mig,o/a, layout and fit and such in my 1 year at skewl i found a nice sa250 on craigslist for 2500 bucks.

Any info ie jobs, equipment for sale, knowledge would be helpful thanks alot
Old 08-29-2010, 10:49 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i am a welder south of houston. but i weld in a fab shop. i can tig weld any metal out there. i plan on getting a rig truck and rig out. it you go to the plants you really need to know your tig. you will get put in some tight spots to weld and alot of welds are 100% xray
Old 08-29-2010, 11:20 PM
Launching!

thanks man, that just confirmed what my instructors told me, i seriously hate tig lol, i can stick like it aint nobodys business but tig????? im willing to learn tho and get better at it. What are some jobs and what kind of money are you looking at if you run your own rig?
Old 08-29-2010, 11:37 PM
Staging Lane

if you go to plants you have to know your tig and know it on alot of metals. plants dont really like to sick rod that much because of all the sparks and bunch of buck shot it put off. money wise if you rig out is 24-27 for you and your truck 12 i think. if your in a plant you get safty thats sometime 2. its really good money but you need to know your ****. i have been welding in shop for about 4 years now. i got my tig down, just need to work on my stick
Old 08-30-2010, 12:05 AM
Staging Lane