10 Second Club Now you are haulin! 10s are sweet

The Shop Rag steps up a class to the TENS

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2017, 12:56 PM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Shop Rag steps up a class to the TENS

Hello, we are SO-ILL Speed & Sound from Carlinville, IL. This a is a Father (Steve) / Son (Joe) project that we call The Shop Rag (because it looks like a rag for now, we'll eventually paint or wrap it) and we work on it one or two nights a week when we can (between everything else that needs worked on, LOL). Right now we share driving duties, but Joe is scratch building a 272" rear engined slip joint dragster powered by a turboed LS2 on methanol to run Top Dragster in NHRA Div 3. I am a Telecommunications Engineer and Joe runs his performance, chassis, and audio shop and drives trucks part time.

ENGINE
All Motor LQ4 with Katec rod bolts, Melling oil pump, double roller timing set, Comp ***** Thumper cam, cnc'd LS3 heads, Comp 918 springs, Edelbrock Victor Jr intake, Proform 850 carb, MSD 6010 box, and Edelbrock headers.

TRANS
turbo 400 with manual reversed valve body, trans brake, PTC 5500 Stall converter, and a B&M ratchet shifter.

REAR END
12bolt, with strange axles, c-clip eliminators, spool, 4.33-1 gears.

WHEELS AND TIRES
American Racing 15x4 Salt Flat Specials with 26" Hoosier front runners and & 15x8 Salt Flat Specials with Hoosier 28-10-15 slicks.

BODY
Gutted everything we could, fiberglass front end, homemade polycarbonite (lexan) windows, no tailgate.
Car weighs 3200 to 3250 with driver depending on which one of us is in it.

Over the winter of 2016 we upgraded to Wilwood front discs from factory discs, rebuilt the trans, added a new PTC converter, upgraded to Trick Chassis double adjustable 4 link bars with aluminum bushings, added a Trick Chassis sway bar, fixed an over heating issue, fixed a trans fluid puke issue, added a 2 inch carb spacer, built a lexan cowl scoop, and got new crew shirts (YEAY!).