Appearance & Detailing Interior & Exterior Appearance Modifications
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Paint chips on front bumper / ground effect 3 to 6 months after getting car repainted

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2016, 08:23 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts

Default Paint chips on front bumper / ground effect 3 to 6 months after getting car repainted

I'm no paint expert, and most of the chips are on the front flaring.

The reason I noted 3 to 6 months was because I started noticing them 3 months after the job was completed last December, at first ignoring them but they gradually grew worse and worse and worse.

Story behind it was this, my car came with an aftermarket body kit from the dealer I bought it from but the kit was urathaned to the body of the car and whoever installed it cut off the rocker panels for some dumb reason, needless to say no more than a year of driving it they started peeling away from the car and looked absolutely horrible plus some parts and panels were beginning to sag. At that time I had a choice to give up on the car (needed alot of work) or just bite the bullet and make lemons into lemonade. I bit the bullet and $3k later I ended up having all of the flarings fiberglassed onto the car as the rocker panel damage was irreversible. Looks MUCH better than before and I'm not really complaining because this was really a job that should have cost closer to $5k and I got a decent deal.

Only thing is, the paint only at the front of the car is just chipping and chipping. Im not sure why. I've had cars with ground effects before and know they're noctorious for taking alot of paint damage but I havent had any degrade so rapidly before. This is degrading very rapid. I took it back to the body shop who did the work, they blamed it on "bug damage" which, I don't really buy for several reasons.

#1 I wash the car twice a week