Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new stall with dr's but car feels slower.whats up?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2011, 11:33 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new stall with dr's but car feels slower.whats up?

got a budget stall convertor from revmax.3200 stall 9.5 inch. also got some bfg drag radials.i bought my car with a huge cam in it and a stock convertor.from a dig the car was a dog because of the stock TC,but from a roll,it was an absolute beast.well,i bought a budget convertor and now,from a dig it wraps up the rpms very fast,but at a roll,it seems like the car is accelarating slower than with the stock tc.im not sure if im spinning or what because the drag radials make no noise at all.and i cant hear anything over my borla.so can someone please answer the following questions:
KEEP IN MIND I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE WITH ANY OTHER STALL CONVERTOR OTHER THAN MINE.never driven another one or rideen in someones car that has a yank or pi.

how can i tell if my convertor is efficient?
how can i tell if its too tight?(creeps foward with foot off the brake at idle)
how can i tell if too loose?
why cant i feel it lock up in OD?( my old one locked up hard like a 5th gear almost)
how can i tell if its slipping?
is the slight vibration i feel in second gear due to it being out of balance?
ive been debating with some guys on ls1.com about this convertor and they almost have me convinced i have a POS.i was defending my convertor,but started to really think about it and my car felt faster with the stock one(from a roll)

and my car shifted very crisp with the stock TC in.with the revmax,it seems to shift softer.i know a stall will make the shifts feel softer,but is there anyway to get a crisp snappy shift with a good quality stall?or do i just have a pos TC which is causing all this?