Sponsored by:

4L80E with P0894 and lockup issues-looking for new ideas

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2012, 05:13 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4L80E with P0894 and lockup issues-looking for new ideas

Hello all,

I am a new member to these forums but I have been looking over posts for awhile and have found some very useful information so I finally joined. I am a fairly young tech and just finished my apprenticeship last fall. I will warn that this is a LONG post but any help and insight would be greatly appreciated.

I recently bought a 2006 2500hd with the 6.0l and a 4l80e knowing that it had tranny issues. When I first scanned the truck it had a pending code of p0894 indicating that there was component slipping. Around town it was fine with no real symptoms at all but the truck had a harsh 1-2 shift with all other shifts being really firm after driving on the highway.

After looking through many service bulletins and other resources, as well as talking to a couple different transmission shops, the general idea was that the converter was most likely the cause and that the piston ended up cracking inside. So I ordered up a Precision of New Hampton converter along with a TCC regulator solenoid.

I installed both the converter, solenoid, and a new seal at the pump. Along with a new filter, I flushed the lines with brake clean and shop air (was told that it should be enough if the pan was clean; and the pan was really clean). The filter had some larger chunks of clutch material in it. Fluid level was correct.

I took the truck for a drive (20 minutes) and it felt great around town but once on the highway it was shifting even harder than before and the temp gauge was around 190 degrees F. I parked the truck and made a couple of phone calls to some shops around town as well as a dealer tech who said that it might just need to relearn the shift pressures and that I should clear any pending codes (P0894).