Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4l60e 2-3 bind

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2012, 06:56 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Default 4l60e 2-3 bind

My car seems to have a bind in the 2-3 shift at part throttle, but only with the shifter in D. I know it uses the overrun clutch in D, does that have anything to do with it? Easy enough to drive around in OD and it's fine. I am worried there is still a problem in the tune or the trans itself and I'm not doing it any favors driving it. Any ideas?
Old 09-12-2012, 09:14 PM

Received 424 Likes on 323 Posts

I try to answer the 4L60E questions here, but I have no experience with this.
Until/unless someone here gives you better advice, I would remove the servo and replace its seals as a relatively simple first step.
Old 09-13-2012, 07:50 AM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Do you have the stock or aftermarket 2-4 servos? Sounds like something in that circuit is maybe not releasing the band quick enough.
Old 09-13-2012, 04:51 PM

Originally Posted by Mystery Bird
Do you have the stock or aftermarket 2-4 servos? Sounds like something in that circuit is maybe not releasing the band quick enough.
Good point. If you change from the basic servo to the corvette or aftermarket servo, IMO you need to drill out the 3rd feed hole in the separator plate.

What few people (even some trans builders) realize is that the 2nd gear fluid pressure is on the 2nd gear servo in 2nd, 3rd and 4th gears. Yes in 3rd gear too!
The 3rd gear apply fluid presses on the backside of the 2nd gear servo, and since this is a bigger surface area that the front side, disengages the band. However since the front side of the Corvette servo is bigger, the band will release a bit slower and could therefore cause a brief bind. Drilling the 3rd feel hole (in the separator plate) may therefore help get the band released quicker.
I hope that made sense.
Old 09-15-2012, 12:04 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 78 Likes on 56 Posts