Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A4 Hitting Rev Limit on 3rd gear before shifting

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2013, 08:08 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A4 Hitting Rev Limit on 3rd gear before shifting

Car started to 'feel' a little different in shifting, not racing just getting on it a little bit. Tonite wanted to find out for sure: If I really stand on the gas, trans gets stuck in 2nd gear and hesitates going into 3rd. Tonite it Hit rev limiter a couple times (I know for sure cause it bounced a couple times on it before finally lazily shifting into 3rd).

Car is in financing stages of ported 243 heads, Fast 102/102 setup. Does any experienced LS1'er know if this sounds like a specific tranny or converter failure? Sorry, I'm not a mechanic by any means besides bolt ons.

I'm guessing converter is stock, tranny was rebuilt a few years ago right when I bought it and was a reason previous owner sold it. I have a very good shop local here, where I was going for heads/intake/tune. I just wanted a clue before I roll in there.

Thanks.
Old 03-01-2013, 08:55 PM

Received 389 Likes on 298 Posts

A slipping converter will give these symptoms, but a combination of trans problems could give them too. Start by making sure you have enough fluid in the trans, and even try 1/2 quart over full.
Since you are going to a tuner anyway, you could ask them to reduce the "WOT Shift MPH" by 5%. That will solve the problem temporarily, but it will likely return when whatever the underlying problem is gets worse.
Running 415rwhp+ in a stock 12 year old 4L60E, you should start thinking about setting $2000 aside for a rebuilt performance trans from one of the sponsors and $400-$700 for a quality 3200 or 3600 stall converter. The converter will give you more bang for your money than any further engine mods.
Old 03-01-2013, 09:36 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by mrvedit