Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4l60E-HD2-C questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2013, 09:20 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4l60E-HD2-C questions

I have a 02 z28 with a 4l60E. It has the above kit. I also has the 3-4 z pak, diff drum, and I believe a diff swervo. fti 3000 stall, super tight. I'm new to autos and I didn't set up the trans. I just have left over instructions and the old parts that came out.

My question is: The hd2-C instructions says gear command. Does this mean if I can manually up-**** the car from 1-2-3 and manually 3-2-1 if I want?

Or

Does it mean if I leave it in first it stays there, if I put it in 2nd if will start in first... go to 2nd and back to first? Same thing with third.

Or

Does it do both.

My converter is tight so I want to get spirited sometimes I'll come to a complete stop and go wot from 1-2 then get to speed and pop it up to drive. Just want to make sure I'm not doing any damage.
Old 04-03-2013, 07:20 PM

Received 424 Likes on 323 Posts

I have installed the HD2 kit, but did not install the "gear command" valve as I don't want to risk overrevving due to a mis-shift.

Normally the PCM completely control the shifting. The "gear command" valve forces the trans to be in a gear no higher than what you have selected. However, if the shifter is in e.g. [D3], the trans will not upshift into 3rd until the PCM tells it to according to its programmed speed. In other words, when you move the shifter to a higher gear, the trans will not necessarily shift then. However, if you move the shifter to a lower gear, the trans will immediately downshift.

Here is how Transgo explains it:
"Back shift to any gear at your command. Holds the gear you select to any rpm."
It is NOT the same as a full-manual valve body.