Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brand new 4l60e broke........

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2013, 12:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brand new 4l60e broke........

Hello to all im new to the ls1 word.

I recently bought a 99 ss with a brand new 4l6oe trans with a brand new TCI 2600 converter, Well I made it 126 miles and it lost FIRST gear then within 10 miles it completely lost all movement... The trans has a TCI-TCU trans controller and it was showing on the display that it was in FIRST gear but it was not for sure....

So I pulled the trans and found the converter was destroyed, there were pieces actually falling out of it..I sent the converter back to TCI and they stated "the thrust bearing broke and destroyed the converter"..They sent me a brand new one for no charge..

The trans was sent back and was not warrantied but I was informed of the damage and it was BAD. The front pump was trashed, the front planetary which was a 5 gear was blue and did not turn, all the clutches were destroyed from all the shavings.

So my question is what the hell happened to this thing the trans was fully built with all good parts and it is not a drag car. I did put it back together and have not drove it yet due to me being scarred it will happen again.....
Old 11-04-2013, 01:04 PM
TECH Addict

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Could be converter not installed properly. Converter tabs to bell housing should be about 1.125 inset. Spacing of converter tabs and flexplate around 1/8 inch. Good write up in stickies in this section.
Old 11-04-2013, 01:06 PM
11 Second Club

Received 51 Likes on 42 Posts

Sounds like it wasn't installed and the converter mounting pads to bellhousing wasn't measured correctly if the pump is bad.
Old 11-04-2013, 01:07 PM