Old 05-30-2016, 09:39 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 2-3 shift again

Ls1 H/C/I, 400rwhp NA
RPM Level 5 4l60E
3600 miles on build
Yank SS 3600 stall

Been dealing with this 2-3 shift issue for some time now and it has never been right. At the strip the car shifts perfect and is very consistent on just motor. When I try to hit it with a 100hp shot it hangs and hits the rev limiter until I lift. About 500 miles ago I took the trans out and sent it back to RPM. They tore it apart and said it was fine so it must be the tune. Im not a tuning expert but have tried minor adjustments to some of my trans tables. Nothing has worked. Help Please!!!!
Old 05-31-2016, 01:05 PM
Staging Lane

Nobody have any ideas for me to try. I've been fighting to fix this for a long time.
Old 06-02-2016, 01:04 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1,263 Likes on 809 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

I'll try to find the old thread if I can, but it might be long lost.

This is going to sound like a real stretch, but hang with me. I remember a post with similar issues on the 2-3 shift and it was also seen through the data-logger that there was also very erratic timing when it occurred. Long story short (and I know its a stretch) it turned out that the nitrous was, to a small extent, back-feeding into the maf/iat sensor and doing some whacky things. the trans uses signals from the engine side of things (more than just rpm and tps) to allow shifts and with this particular set of conditions, it just wouldn't let it into 3rd.

I'm gonna bet good money this is not your problem, but it was interesting enough for me to remember so I thought it was worth a mention.

A more likely option is to look at where your solenoids are wired. The transmission solenoids are activated by grounding them. If somehow your ground for the solenoid, or even the power side of things is interfering with this process, You'll never be able to excite that solenoid, and you'll never get into 3rd.
Old 06-02-2016, 09:05 PM