Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Bolt pattern

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2010, 11:15 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bolt pattern

I am a noob.. I know this. but why did they have to put a 6 lug on the CTS-V? Why not just use Vette Hubs and bolt patterns? Been looking up wheel options for the CTS-V and there arent many...

Im thinking painted stockers(winter) and black team dynamics(favorite wheel ever) in the summer.

I know I dont have my CTS-V yet. But just researching while I can.
Old 11-01-2010, 12:29 PM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by LegacyGTBiggie
I am a noob.. I know this. but why did they have to put a 6 lug on the CTS-V? Why not just use Vette Hubs and bolt patterns? Been looking up wheel options for the CTS-V and there arent many...

Im thinking painted stockers(winter) and black team dynamics(favorite wheel ever) in the summer.

I know I dont have my CTS-V yet. But just researching while I can.
I'm not sure I have the answer to your initial question, but based on a guess, I would say that with the torque ours cars make + the extra weight over what a Corvette weighs, GM probably felt the extra lug bolt was needed because of safety concerns.

The TD wheels are nice, but in case you didn't know, they don't make a center wheel cap to fit those wheels because they are really primarily a racing wheel and not really intended to be used on the street (although they can be). If you can have wheel caps custom made, or live without one (which, IMO, would look crappy on the street), then go for it.
Old 11-01-2010, 12:50 PM
On The Tree

guess id have to get soem made then. I had pro race 1s on my old SpecV SER. And i loved them. Was so sad to sell those after totalling the car.
Old 11-01-2010, 01:28 PM
TECH Regular

The 6 lug doesn't make much sense to me when the V2 makes way more power and is heavier with 5 lugs. Not sure what they were thinking.
Old 11-01-2010, 01:41 PM
On The Tree