New MSD ignition controller. Yes, NEW - LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion

Notices
Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

New MSD ignition controller. Yes, NEW

Reply

Old 08-12-2016, 01:58 PM
  #1  
In-Zane Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,777
Default New MSD ignition controller. Yes, NEW

This is the first I have heard of this. I was a authorized MSD dealer for a bit, so I still get the emails. I hope this is a improvements for those that have had the issues recently. Has some extra features. I'll give it a chance and see how it does when I can.

ZONES89RS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 01:59 PM
  #2  
In-Zane Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,777
Default

And between complaints anout the old units as well as Dayton hurting their sales, this better shine.
ZONES89RS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 02:54 PM
  #3  
LS1Tech Sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA. USA
Posts: 2,059
Default IGN-8 vs 6014

This product release states they, MSD, have added some of the features.

They do NOT state the TWO GPO's and EGO AMP

Would the new 6014 have the board mounted MAP sensor ?

Lance

******** I have removed the non-sponsor advertising from this post. I think you you have been spoken to about this in the past. You can inquire about becoming a sponsor directly with Internet Brands. Until then, please refrain from advertising on this forum.********* - speedtigger

Last edited by speedtigger; 08-15-2016 at 08:30 AM.
pantera_efi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 03:59 PM
  #4  
On The Tree
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 196
Default

They are too late to the party IMHO, and they basically made the same box as Daytona Sensors.
If they wanted to get sales back they needed to make a box that had all those functions and more.

I have a Daytona box now and it works flawlessly!
But I also had a 6012 previously and it worked great too, 8.80s @152.
Petey-Pop-383 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 04:08 PM
  #5  
On The Tree
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 196
Default

I just searched for the box on MSD's website and it seems to have some nice functions that could be helpful so I need to partially retract my previous statement......I'm interested to see real world results.

http://documents.msdperformance.com/6014.pdf
Petey-Pop-383 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 04:19 PM
  #6  
In-Zane Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,777
Default

I'm going to find out. Just proud they didn't call it quits with the old box.
ZONES89RS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 04:56 PM
  #7  
Moderator
iTrader: (18)
 
TXsilverado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Humble Texas
Posts: 15,628
Default

looks like an upgrade to me. individual timing control is awesome and the ability to retard timing at hot coolant temp is a great addition. I also like the idea of having 4 custom tunes on the fly without the need for a laptop. I would like to see the boxed tune is for the stock motors. the chips for the old box had the timing at idle and WOT way out of whack for a LS series motor.
TXsilverado is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 03:39 PM
  #8  
In-Zane Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,777
Default

Glad it is compatible with a 24 and 58x wheel.
ZONES89RS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 05:45 PM
  #9  
TECH Junkie
iTrader: (1)
 
Pop N Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,269
Default

http://documents.msdperformance.com/6014.pdf

man, lots of good updates and only a $20 price increase

Thank God they finally went USB instead of the serial port. Built in map sensor might be a PITA unless the unit is mounted near the manifold. Easier to run wires, think I would have preferred the external sensor

Looks like they replaced the pills with the rotary switch. That one seems bizarre

And too cool they data log the input voltage. How many guys would that have saved around here

Lets just hope they fixed whatever issues the old box had with reading certain cranks.
Pop N Wood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 06:05 PM
  #10  
10 Second Club
 
Doug G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harford Co. Maryland
Posts: 3,683
Default

Looks pretty trick when you compare it to the old box.
Doug G is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 07:21 AM
  #11  
Launching!
iTrader: (51)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Port Orange/Daytona,Fl
Posts: 216
Default

They did a good job coping the Daytona box. Lets see how it really works and if it's reliable. And to see if they fixed their crank to run issues. That's ok tho. Just wait till the newest Daytona box is released :-)
Mr.Nitrous is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 07:35 AM
  #12  
10 Second Club
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 202
Default

Are you guys not seeing the time based timing retard control? I'm sure Daytona sensors box is a good box but.. It doesn't have this option or logging capabilities
jgillen91 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 03:57 PM
  #13  
TECH Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
jaywill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: REIDSVILLE,NC
Posts: 1,361
Default

is it out now ?
jaywill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 04:58 PM
  #14  
Moderator
iTrader: (18)
 
TXsilverado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Humble Texas
Posts: 15,628
Default

it says "available now" so my best guess is it's out now.
TXsilverado is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 10:37 PM
  #15  
10 Second Club
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 202
Default

I called msd this morning. They only had 2 left in stock. I bought one of them directly from msd. Says it will be here Friday!
Originally Posted by jaywill View Post
is it out now ?
Originally Posted by TXsilverado View Post
it says "available now" so my best guess is it's out now.
jgillen91 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 07:09 AM
  #16  
TECH Junkie
iTrader: (1)
 
Pop N Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,269
Default

Originally Posted by Mr.Nitrous View Post
They did a good job coping the Daytona box.
Good thing they didn't copy the price though.

The other thing I notice is they say to use a 30 amp fuse. The old box didn't specify a fuse size but that seems huge. Wonder if something changed?
Pop N Wood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 07:36 AM
  #17  
Launching!
iTrader: (51)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Port Orange/Daytona,Fl
Posts: 216
Default

Originally Posted by Pop N Wood View Post
Good thing they didn't copy the price though.

The other thing I notice is they say to use a 30 amp fuse. The old box didn't specify a fuse size but that seems huge. Wonder if something changed?
we could put it in a cheaper housing and take away from the product but why. Ours is smaller, and weights in less. I wonder if they addressed their harness design ? We will see soon.
Mr.Nitrous is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 09:01 AM
  #18  
TECH Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
jaywill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: REIDSVILLE,NC
Posts: 1,361
Default

jaywill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 09:36 AM
  #19  
10 Second Club
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 202
Default

looking at the instruction manual, the connectors for each bank of the coils has its own separate ground, which is different from the older boxes. I wasn't aware msd had a harness issue. Or is it just ugly looking that the problem is.

Originally Posted by Mr.Nitrous View Post
we could put it in a cheaper housing and take away from the product but why. Ours is smaller, and weights in less. I wonder if they addressed their harness design ? We will see soon.
jgillen91 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 12:21 PM
  #20  
In-Zane Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,777
Default

Pricing is fantastic. I will TRY to get one of these as soon as things are squared away with the shop and I get some things done. Already knocked out a couple of my cars.
ZONES89RS is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New MSD ignition controller. Yes, NEW


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: