6014 tuning - LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion



Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

6014 tuning

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2017, 08:19 AM   #1
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 48
Default 6014 tuning

Hi guys just bought a 6014 box. I have a lq4 with 243 heads and a tick sns stage 2 cam. I never programmed a msd box before. What curve or setting should I use on the timing box ?? There is a truck h.o setting will that work??
69 nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 09:55 AM   #2
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 48
Default

Can specs are 231/235. .625/.605 Lisa 111+2. So will engine just run if I out dial on truck h.o.just so it moves on own power in still building car,??
69 nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 10:18 AM   #3
TECH Junkie
iTrader: (1)
 
Pop N Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,163
Default

The 6014 box is relatively new, not sure how many guys are using them just yet so not sure how much experienced advice you will get. You might be one of the pioneers.

But always a good idea to start with a safe tune. If I were you I would check the manual and dial in whatever setting has less total timing advance. Once you get running and the carb dialed in at least a little bit than you can start experimenting with more aggressive timing curves.

Whatever you do let us know what works.
Pop N Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 10:44 AM   #4
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 48
Default

I have no idea I had a stock 5.3 now with the mods on my 6.0 i wasn't sure if I can just start it in their truck h.o setting until I get time to program it.
69 nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 08:12 PM   #5
9 Second Club
 
uraloser2me2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 69 nova View Post
Hi guys just bought a 6014 box. I have a lq4 with 243 heads and a tick sns stage 2 cam. I never programmed a msd box before. What curve or setting should I use on the timing box ?? There is a truck h.o setting will that work??
Custom 1 programs the same as a 6010 or 6012 with a 2d graph. Read the sticky thread and you will get a good idea where to start.

https://ls1tech.com/forums/carburete...iming-set.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by 69 nova View Post
Can specs are 231/235. .625/.605 Lisa 111+2. So will engine just run if I out dial on truck h.o.just so it moves on own power in still building car,??
Any of the curves would work to move it around the shop. the H.O. curve is a stock 5.3 on premium gas.
uraloser2me2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 09:37 PM   #6
On The Tree
iTrader: (1)
 
darren s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Albemarle, NC
Posts: 103
Default

I just put one on my car and I am taking it to the track saturday. First question is do you have the map or temp sensors hooked up because that will make a difference. I have a lq9 with 243 heads and a polluter cam and while it would crank on the truck tune the timing was so low it would pop through the carb if I tried to give it any throttle. Went into custom tune 1 and set it to 32 deg across the board after 1k rpm and it ran great. I pulled a 6010 off to run the 6014. They are pretty similar in many ways.
darren s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 09:48 PM   #7
9 Second Club
 
uraloser2me2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darren s View Post
I just put one on my car and I am taking it to the track saturday. First question is do you have the map or temp sensors hooked up because that will make a difference. I have a lq9 with 243 heads and a polluter cam and while it would crank on the truck tune the timing was so low it would pop through the carb if I tried to give it any throttle. Went into custom tune 1 and set it to 32 deg across the board after 1k rpm and it ran great. I pulled a 6010 off to run the 6014. They are pretty similar in many ways.
You don't have to hook up either sensor, but not having the temp sensor hooked up it will pop up with and error when you load the software. If you use custom tune 1 it will be just like the 6010 the other tunes use a timing table instead of the line graph. If the map is not hooked up just make sure it is zeroed out in the tune.
uraloser2me2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daytona Sensors ignition box and harness Bowtiedford Parts Classifieds 7 03-13-2017 05:40 PM
Msd 6014 settings 69 nova Carbureted LSX Forum 1 02-07-2017 08:05 PM
Msd 6014 question 69 nova Generation III External Engine 0 02-05-2017 02:26 PM
MSD 6014 Timing Table opinion 2manytoys Carbureted LSX Forum 1 11-14-2016 05:10 PM
should i get the MSD 6010 or 6014 box ??? jaywill Carbureted LSX Forum 10 11-09-2016 07:51 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: