Chevrolet Camaro 1967-2002 The forum for diehard Camaro fans

Just a few gauge questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2017, 03:59 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just a few gauge questions

So on the road to fixing up my 1997 Z28 Camaro, I had a few questions to see if they need to be looked at, or it's normal for these cars. Again, I'm new to all this... 😂

Temp gauge: When I bought the car, the owner said the car was overheating and leaking coolant from the reservoir, possibly due to a blown head gasket. Well upon further inspection, I looked towards the thermostat, it was gunky and seemed it was clogged up. After replacing the thermostat, no more leaks, and the gauge needle no longer reached the red warning indicator. When driving it stays at 180. However, when the car is idling, the gauge rises a little after the halfway mark, before starting to go back down, rises, and back down again. When I drive, it lowers back down and stays at 180... there's gunk in the radiator, obviously needs coolant flush too (owner used dexcool). But other than that, is that normal or any issues any of y'all might have come upon?

Oil Gauge: From idle to drive, needle rises, when I stop, goes back down. And this fluctuation is after new oil change.

Fuel Gauge: The Gauge needle seems to fluctuate as I drive. Drops down, then rises again when driving, hills seem to affect it the most. The fuel tank seems to have been dropped by a previous own, As from looking when I open the gas cap to fuel up. Asked the guy I bought it from, but had no clue.

These as are the questions I have so far. Yalls replays would greatly be appreciated.
Old 02-04-2017, 07:43 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts