Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LQ4 into a 79' Malibu

Old 07-20-2011, 10:16 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default LQ4 into a 79' Malibu

Hello all I've been on the forum for a couple years and decided to finally post up my build thread. I am an apprentice technician at a local Chevrolet dealership, so trying to find motivation, and time to put the car together has come in spurts. So progress may not happen for a couple days to a month at times.

The car was purchased off of eBay in 2009. We bought it for $3400 running and drove it off the trailer about 30 miles home. We bought the car in Wisconsin and brought it home to IL. The car was originally sold at Midway Chevrolet in Phoenix, AZ. The interior was trashed due to all the sun it got, but the exterior was rust free, as the frame was.

We dropped in a 355 Gen I that was included in the sale of my dad's 69' Convertible Camaro. A couple weeks after that, it ended up spinning 3 rod bearings. I put the Goodwrench 350 that the car came with, back in and drove it for the rest of the year. That winter, I decided to start re-doing the interior. I ended up using Cutlass bucket seats, Cutlass tilt column, Monte Carlo center console, and Monte Carlo dash. I recovered the stock bench seat and the new bucket seats, re-dyed every interior piece, minus the reproduction rear sail panels (which fit like crap IMO, and will find originals sooner than later), Shadow Blue with SEM interior spray.

I then started doing the rear end, replacing the 2.23 7.5" with a 3.73 8.5" from a 442. I then removed the 3.73's and went with 3.23's so I could drive it on the highway. Also went ahead and installed a Detroit Truetrac differential and a TA performance girdle. The rear suspension is a set of C3fab tubular uppers and boxed lowers.