Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Home brew budget nylon fuel line tool

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2013, 07:20 PM
TECH Addict

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

Default Home brew budget nylon fuel line tool

Disclaimer: I am merely sharing information I discovered or compiled. Fuel is highly flammable, EFI lines are under a lot of pressure (43 to 58 PSI or sometimes more) and I am not responsible if you are not able to get this or any of my other ideas I share on this or other sites to work. This method has worked for me in the past, however your mileage and results may vary. Do not try this at home, I’m a professional, wear your safety gear, eat your veggies, etc.

Now that we have the boring official stuff out of the way....
I recently completed a build and used OEM style nylon fuel line and fittings and wanted to share how it was done. I looked at the Dorman fuel line repair tool which comes in two variants, without fittings and with fittings. Nice, but at $96 and $230 respectively it was a hard pill to swallow for something I can't use regularly.

I realized these tools simply press the fittings into the fuel line and weren’t overly complicated. A bit of surfing found several solutions with varying degrees of success. The most successful of these used a caulking gun and bits of wood with notches and screws or a flare tool to hold the tubing but had no pictures. I’m here to fix that.

My method uses a caulking gun but it can't be the "normal" tray shaped variant, we need the one that only has two bars to hold the end on (very important), a giant nut I took from a hydraulic setup a friend had disassembled, a bit of scrap flat bar and a cheap flare tool.

This can be done freehand or on the car, but if you have the luxury placing it all in a vice works best.

I bought the caulking gun (HD138C) from Home Depot, but I’m sure Lowes has something similar. Remember it has to be the two bar type as pictured below. $13.

Normal boring parts store brand flare tool. $9